Top 5 Tuesday || PQRST

Top 5 Tuesday

Just one more to go after this! Today’s Top 5 Tuesday (as hosted by Shanah @ Bionic Bookworm Blog) finally gets tricky to finish.

I’m looking at you, Q. Only because I stubbornly refuse to put Queen of Nothing.

P – The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

Priory of the Orange Tree Cover

Listen, it’s been almost a month since I read this book, and I’m still not over it. It’s queer, has dragons, has a friendship so powerful that I actually cried, and it’s left hanging in such a way that everything is resolved BUT…BUT…there’s a tantalizing thread left behind in case Samantha Shannon ever decides to come back with another installment.

Basically, this book is an 800 page brick full of everything I could ever ask for. 🧡

 

Q – The Queens of Innis Lear by Tessa Gratton

The Queens of Innis Lear.jpg

I’ve heard now and again of The Queens of Innis Lear, but no one really says too much about it, which meant I had to go digging on my own. And after some digging, it turns out this is an adult fantasy about three sisters competing for the throne, which means I probably should get my hands on it. I do love some good competition, and I love it even more when there’s magic involved!

 

R – Ruin of Stars by Linsey Miller

Ruin of Stars Cover

I fell so in love with Sal when I picked up Mask of Shadows, and I was so so so so SO pleased with how their story ended in Ruin of Stars. They got exactly what I think they deserved, plus the LI is such a good characters PLUS there’s so much queer rep (it’s been a while, but there’s an aro-but-not-ace character and I believe there’s a trans man, not to mention varying shades of not-straightness). Basically, it’s a great cap on a duology I really love. 💛

 

S – Stone Mad by Elizabeth Bear

Stone Mad Cover.jpg

It’s been A THOUSAND YEARS (not really, but close enough) since I read Karen Memory, and I still don’t have my hands on Stone Mad. It’s honestly just a tragedy because I need more of this brilliant steampunk PNW murder mystery lesbian series! It’s fun and vibrant and a little bizarre in the right ways, and come to think of it, I really should start checking out the rest of Elizabeth Bear’s work…

 

T – The Thorn of Emberlain by Scott Lynch

The Thorn of Emberlain Cover.jpg

AT LAST. A little while ago on Twitter, Scott Lynch said the manuscript for The Thorn of Emberlain is finally done, and I am READY. Republic of Thieves came out in 2013 (early 2014? something like that, because I read it in my junior year anatomy class lol), and I have waited SO PATIENTLY for my favorite thieves to come back and get themselves in over their heads again. They’ve made a mess as thieves, as pirates, and as politicians, and now it’s time for them to make a mess as soldiers.

 

We’re almost to the end of the alphabet! Look at that! But more importantly, what are your picks for this week?

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday || PQRST

  1. Would be very interested in hearing your thoughts on The Queens of Innis Lear if you do pick it up! It’s currently on my pick-back-up-again-later list, because I got a little bogged down with its heavy, descriptive narrative. Although I do attribute that more to my habit of reading multiple books at once than with how it’s written – I realized that Tessa Gratton’s writing requires my full attention.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.